11. 14. 2018

The Graduate School announces the winners of the 3rd Annual Three-Minute Thesis Competition

Scott Lanyon and Kweku Konadu Amponsah-Efah shaking hands at Three-Minute Thesis Competition
Kweku Konadu Amponsah-Efah, a doctoral
candidate in Pharmaceutics, won the People's
Choice and First Place Awards.

Kweku Konadu Amponsah-Efah, a doctoral student in the College of Pharmacy's Pharmaceutics program took home both the People's Choice and the First Place Awards at the event on Friday, November 9. Amponsah-Efah will represent the University of Minnesota at the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) 3-Minute Thesis competition in Spring 2019.

Master's student Austin Yantes from the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences - Natural Resources Science and Management program received the Second Place Award.

The Three-Minute Thesis Competition challenges graduate students to present their research in just 180 seconds, in a way that can be understood by an intelligent audience with no background in the subject. This competition helps our graduate students develop presentation and communication skills; the benefits of preparing for a three-minute thesis competition are valuable regardless of career path, degree objective, or discipline. Participants are allowed to refer to one, static slide during their presentations, but may not use any other props or media.

Special thanks goes to this year's judges:

  • David Gillette, Special Correspondent and Creator of Illustrated Essays, Twin Cities PBS
  • Nasibu Sareva, Executive Director, African Development Center of Minnesota
  • Kablia Thao, Director of National Engagement, U of MN Alumni Association
  • Chuck Tombarge, Chief Public Relations Officer, U of MN University Relations
  • Sandra Vargas, Senior Executive Leadership Fellow, U of MN Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Watch all of the participants' presentations:

Beth Adamowicz, Doctoral Student

Kweku Konadu Amponsah-Efah, Doctoral Student

George Furey, Doctoral Student

Jackie Liu, Doctoral Student

Davin Rautiola, Doctoral Student

Branden Smeester, Doctoral Student

Austin Yantes, Master's Student

All participants of the Three Minute Thesis competition, standing on stage with certificates
The winners of six collegiate competitions competed for the University-wide Three-Minute Thesis award. From L-R: Beth Adamowicz, Branden Smeester, Kweku Konadu Amponsah-Efah, Davin Rautiola, Austin Yantes, George Furey, Jackie Liu